Stand by...

Does this sound like a scam to you?


The other day I was in an electronic’s store shopping for a CPU for a new system I’m building, and this guy beside me starts asking me a bunch of computer related questions. He introduces himself and gives me a business card with his company’s name and his cell number. No address, no email addresses, no internet address for their website. I look up the business when I get home and can’t find anything about it. The next day I get a call from someone who says he’s with the company and that he wants to sit down at a Starbucks and talk about an opportunity to make supplemental income in Internet Marketing. The call was around 8PM at night, strange hours to be making a business call isn’t it? Also, he wants to meet at the Starbucks by my house at 8PM tonight to discuss all this. Has anyone ever been involved in a situation like this? It sounds like a scam to me.

Since it’s supposedly an internet marketing company I would think that they would at the very least have a URL for their business on their business card or something like that…

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • MisterWong
  • Y!GG
  • Webnews
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us

8 Comment(s). Add a comment or Trackback

  • Diane A  16:10 Oct 01, 2009 

    SCAM and creepy. Would avoid this one; your instincts are right on.

  • tink  19:53 Oct 03, 2009 

    It sounds like the pyramid.

  • Edith P  03:43 Oct 07, 2009 

    Sounds dangerous, report this to your local police department, it sounds like you gave your phone number out. Be very careful there are reverse phone number books, which may show your address too. Talk to the police department. If nothing is wrong let them tell you.

  • Samantha W  10:47 Oct 10, 2009 

    ABSOLUTELY this is a scam. Don’t get involved.

  • InspectorBudget  11:46 Oct 10, 2009 

    Yes, it does sound very suspicious indeed. At the best, it’s some kind of come-on to get you into a MLM scheme like so many that are floating around.

    At the worst, it’s a straight scam where they ask you to “invest” and make off with your money.

    You would do best to avoid this thing entirely.

  • PoohBearPenguin  02:08 Oct 11, 2009 

    “internet” + “marketing” + “income” = SCAM. Stay away.

  • Iris W  07:31 Oct 12, 2009 

    He sounds very suspicious, I would tell him Hell No and I would notify the management at Best Buy, he is casing out his victims.

  • Mr R  09:39 Oct 14, 2009 

    Sounds like Quixtar to me.
    You have just been “prospected”.
    He is going to show you the Quixtar business opportunity, which is a network marketing format.
    It is an opportunity, but not for everyone.
    Look it up at Quixtar.com.

    I used to be in Quixtar, and it sounds like a classic case of what they trained me to do to get people into my business.

    Don’t worry, I’m not in it anymore, nor do I promote it.

Leave a comment ↓

Welcome back, (change)

submitting...

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree Plugin

Categories

Blogroll